Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have been out of my comfort zone a little this weekend visiting family in New Mexico! Saturday we went on a 4 hour hike up the Sandia mountains and man, were they beautiful.

About half way through we stopped for a snack, naturally I grabbed my Vega meal bar for some easy packing and adequate calories for the trip!

vega meal bar The views were gorgeous and the walk was challenging, which lead me to thinking, man is it hard to stay active on vacation! So while looking at the gorgeous trees and walking with family, I came up with 3 ways to get everyone involved for CHEAP!

1. Plan before hand. Express interest to your whole group in getting out to a nature trail. You only have to pay for parking which is no more than 5-10$ a vehicle.

2. Depending on how long you are gone, pick 1 or 2 days to go on a run together close to where you are staying. It’s 100% free, and create a fun group atmosphere to get everyone excited!

3. Assert yourself as “that” family member. This doesn’t mean your not also the fun one, nor does it mean you can’t enjoy yourself. But be the family member that offers to walk instead of drive to the ice cream shop.

With that, I will leave you some of the views we saw here in New Mexico!

walkingMy grandpa and I walking down the mountain

walking

My grandpa, uncle and I making our way down the mountain! 
mountain viewGorgeous view on our walk up 
creek

A creek we found. Man this was relaxing! We stuck our feet in and enjoyed how cool and clear the water was!
family snack time Everyone chatting at snack time near the creek! 

Have a great week!

 

 

