Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

At first I didn’t think there were many differences. Both rooms are hot as $%&* and its uncomfortable, right?

Well recently I have been doing Hot Yoga once a week and have really come to enjoy it. And I actually dislike Bikram because of how uncomfortable it is. So I have put together the 5 differences I have seen between Bikram and Hot yoga for you to decide for yourself which is better!

1. The humidity in hot yoga varies, but where I attend it is untouched. In Bikram studios, the humidity is boosted up to as high as 40-50% making breathing difficult. It is crucial in a Bikram class to focus on your deep breathing and finding focus points during poses.

2. Bikram classrooms have a temperature of 105 degrees vs hot yoga at 92 degrees. Both sound unbearably hot, however, with the weather here in the midwest.. when I walk into my hot yoga studio it is an hour of defrosting!

3. Length of classes. Bikram runs for 90 minutes while hot yoga is the average 60. While there is nothing wrong with a longer class, but I tend to loose interest after about 60 minutes personally.

4. Bikram uses a Hatha Yoga approach. This type of practice is focuses on mental and physical strength in their poses. It is a very physical practice and tests the individuals limits. Hot yoga uses a ashtanga vinyasa practice which are flow poses that increase flexibility and focus on the breath.

5. Hot yoga uses different poses depending on the instructor, motives for the class and time of day. Bikram always has the same 26 poses no matter what the circumstances.

I encourage you to try both and decide for yourself. If you become uncomfortable in either class, it is best practice to calmly take the child’s pose position and return to a comfortable breath until you are ready to pick up the practice.

**There are several definitions to “hot yoga”. I am referring to the class I take here in Milwaukee which uses a Hot Power Yoga practice.

TGIF! Have a great weekend!

