Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

A lot can be said about someone’s journey. There’s a point in your life when the thirst for knowledge and hunger for success drives the passion you have found. This doesn’t mean everyone has to go out and be a trainer like I choose to do, but I do know that when I improved my confidence and focused on myself, my true happiness started to show.

1 year ago (January 2013) I took the plunge to prioritize my health by getting an online trainer. She was fantastic and she pushed me to the max. I lost 10 lbs and several inches from working with her for 3 months. She challenged my mental and physical strength, and I learned how to prioritize my life by adding the gym in it. I also questioned EVERYTHING and learned as much as I could.

Jan 2013

^Jan 2013

After 3 months I knew that I wanted what my trainer had, the feeling of seeing people succeed and knowing that I can put my knowledge to good use by helping others. So I had reached out to a good friend I met over instagram and set out to get certified. I studied and I went to the gym more than I slept. I woke up at 4:30AM everyday and went to bed by 8:30PM- 9:00PM and made sure to eat every meal on the 2 hour mark, no questions asked.

May 2013

^May 2013

But, then I started getting sick of chicken and rice. I was feeling physically sick from eating chicken so often. I would beat myself up over making sure to be healthy, “be strict”, “no results are made by complaining”. It truly took a tole on my mindset, I thought I was failing because at the end of the day, all I could stomach was goldfish or crackers and aloe water. I was still hitting the gym 4x a week but that wasn’t enough. I was disgusting, I was never going to be a successful trainer, how could I suggest foods and meal options for clients when I couldn’t even eat them myself? This, ladies and gentlemen, is the start of an eating disorder. And the mental beating I gave myself was the start of self deterioration, and it showed.

August 2013

^July 2013

I worked on trying to teach myself the meaning of guilt free. I knew that if I did anything with this problem, it would be that my clients would NEVER feel this way when it came to food or exercise. I started practicing yoga 1 a month, then once biweekly, and now 1-2x a week. I schedule gym sessions to fit my schedule and I do what I love. I learned that a mostly vegan lifestyle means I can still put on muscle and I can still be strong with a healthy body fat. I have done a lot research and I offer my advice to people who ask for it. I reached out to people I admire openly and listened and learned and took in everything I could. I found a passion for a healthy lifestyle, and not just a relationship with the gym.

Nov 2013

^Nov 2013

I am starting to see small improvements that have grown into bigger ones and my mindset is where I want it. I do what I want to stay active and I focus on what I love which is (clearly) blogging and connecting with like minded people. I don’t tolerate people that make fun of or having something negative to say about the lifestyle and I don’t tolerate people who don’t bring positivity to my life. <– a little harsh? So is telling yourself your not worth it. There is nothing wrong with wanting happiness for yourself!

Jan 2014

^Jan 2014

So, here I am, 3 months into the 3rd blog I have started since college (2 I lost interest in fast) and I am starting to get the hang of this thing. My passion for the industry and it’s possibilities is just bubbling up like a glass of ice cold champagne and I love it. My relationships are getting better and my confidence is rising. I hope to hit the weight room again soon while still focusing on Yoga, which I have really found to enjoy.

I hope that you can see that there are a lot of ups and downs in a fitness journey. But surrounding yourself with support and finding the inner meaning of why you are making the change, makes all the difference. This lifestyle is more than just vanity. When you find that fire within, it shows on the outside as the beautiful, strong women we all are. I love helping people admit and analyze their stories, so email me with yours! Not sure what your inner goals are? That’s what I am here for!

Namaste. Happy Monday! Make this week amazing!

Also, its my Mom’s 51 birthday today. 1 year ago she did her first 5k and now she is also learning the meaning of healthy for her life. It makes me proud, and she’s awesome. Happy Birthday Mom!! 

